National Language of India: An Overview

India is a diverse country since its cultures vary depending on the area. The union’s 28 states and 8 union territories each have their own cultural background and accent. According to the eighth schedule of the Indian constitution, there are a total of 22 scheduled languages, and they are all widely spoken in different states. Given the diversity of languages prevalent in India, selecting a single language as the country’s official language proved difficult. In India, what language is used? Which language is the official language of India? Become fluent in the language of the country.

What is the National Language of India?

Due to the country’s cultural variety, none of the languages are given the status of the national language in India. In India, fewer than 44% of the population speaks Hindi. For many years, there has been discussion of making Hindi an official language since it is the Most spoken National Language of India, but with no success. No language may be designated as India’s national language under the terms of the Indian constitution. To be used for official purposes across the nation, Hindi and English have been designated as the official languages.

Government’s Role in implementing national language

The national language of India, according to the government, is Hindi. Governmental organisations have proclaimed Hindi to be the national tongue on several occasions. In his statement at a public gathering in 2017, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu mentioned Hindi as the country’s official language. The national language and official language still cause confusion among people. The national language serves as a symbol of the history and culture of the nation, demonstrating that the majority of the populace is familiar with and fluent in that language. The state and federal governments use official language for official transactions. There can be many official languages in a nation, but there can only be one national language.

Significance of Classical Language Status

The Indian government made the decision to establish a new class of languages known as “classical languages” in 2004, instead of a national language. It established the requirements for awarding the designation of a classical language in 2006. The standards are as follows:

  • A language must contain historical documents dating back between 1500 and 2000 years.
  • A body of old writings that is regarded as a priceless inheritance by succeeding generations of speakers and a literary legacy that is unique and not taken from another linguistic group.

Six languages have so far been designated as classical languages as of 2016. Odia was the most recent language to receive this designation in 2014, having received Tamil as the first language in 2004. While Sanskrit is the Less spoken National Language of India, according to linguistic data from the 2011 Census.


  • What does the Indian Constitution’s 8th Schedule say?

Ans. The Indian Constitution’s 8th Schedule covers the country’s official tongues. In the Indian Constitution, there are references to 22 official languages.

  • How many languages are spoken officially in India?

121 languages and 270 mother tongues are present in total. Part A lists the 22 languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India, whereas Part B lists the 99 languages not listed in the Eighth Schedule.

Related posts

Crafting Your Image: The Crucial Role of a Strong Employer Brand in Attracting Talent

Kimberly Mia


Kimberly Mia

Study hall Technology Learning

Kimberly Mia